Makin’ it rain

Uncle Jack left in a hurry last week – he had to make it to BFG Supply Co. in Belleville before closing time. So his last instructions to me, regarding the dripline irrigation system, were sort of dumped in a pile on my lawn – literally and figuratively.

Emitting and non-emitting drip line, goof plugs, bug plugs, run this line down here, two up the middle should do it, Ok (hug, hug) gotta go.

Fortunately, I have some experience with legos, and it turns out this is a lot like that. (Hmm, maybe I should have had Nick design it…) Oh well, two days ago I put together a “system” based on the parts I had, and if it’s not right, I have more parts. Hopefully this is no biggie, though the dirt does seem awful dry, especially on top (perhaps because I put a roof over it a week ago). Now the drip line leaves wet spots every foot or so, and the dirt underneath is damp, so I think we’re on the right track.

My master gardener friend Marianne “Seeds and Stems” Rzepka assures me that with soil temps regularly above the 50s or 60s, it’s safe to plant some tomato seedlings. (yes, I’ve been taking the dirt’s temperature. daily. cuz I can.) Despite her stubborn insistence on dissing my birth month, I trust Rz implicitly when it comes to tomatoes and other green growy things. She’s been my tomato seedling supplier for several years. Plus she taught me to swear in Polish.

Rz doesn’t know it yet, but unless she decides to change her email address and not tell me, she’s also one of my consultants on this project…

This entry was posted in dirt, irrigation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

